Colorado Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
- posted: Feb. 27, 2021
Did you know that there is a minimum mandatory amount of car insurance coverage in Colorado? As of the end of 2020, Colorado law requires drivers to carry:
- $25,000 per person to cover bodily injury;
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury; and
- $15,000 per accident to cover the cost of repairing property damage.
However, liability insurance only covers the other car or driver when an accident is the policyholder’s own fault. You may want to consider other optional coverages to help better protect yourself, like med-pay, uninsured motorist or gap coverage. See our other blog posts about these coverages.